Adam Harvey

Former Research Fellow

Adam Harvey (US/DE) is a researcher and artist based in Berlin focused on computer vision, privacy, and surveillance. He is a graduate of the Interactive Telecommunications Program at New York University (2010) and previously studied engineering and photojournalism at the Pennsylvania State University. Previous projects on surveillance include CV Dazzle (camouflage from face recognition), the Anti-Drone Burqa (camouflage from thermal cameras), SkyLift (a geolocation spoofing device), and MegaPixels (interrogating face recognition information supply chains).

His work has been featured widely in media publications including the New York Times, BBC, Der Spiegel, Washington Post, Wired, New Yorker, and the Financial Times; and shown at internationally acclaimed institutions and events including V&A museum (UK), Seoul Mediacity Biennale (KR), Istanbul Design Biennale (TK), Frankfurter Kunstverien (DE), Zeppelin Museum (DE), Utah Museum of Contemporary Art (US), and Kemper Museum of Contemporary Art (US).

Recently, Harvey developed VFRAME, a computer vision project that helps human rights researchers use visual forensic tools for OSINT investigations. VFRAME received an Award of Distinction from Ars Electronica in 2019, was nominated for for the EU STARTS prize in 2018, nominated for the Beazley Design of The Year Award in 2019, and received a Rapid Response grant from EYEBEAM for developing computer vision tools to analyze police imagery.

Contact

Email

hello[at]ahprojects.com

Web

More about Adam Harvey

Organisation
Researcher and Artist based in Berlin
  • Positions

    Research Fellow

    Research Group "Inequality and Digital Sovereignty"

    1 July - 14 September 2020

  • © *Dieses Portraitfoto von Adam Harvey spiegelt auch seine Arbeit wider, in der es u. a. auch um Gesichtserkennung geht: sein Bild lässt keine Rückverfolgung durch gängige Gesichtserkennung auf seine Identität zu.

Back to Overview

Adam Harvey

Ehemaliger Research Fellow

Adam Harvey (US/DE) ist Forscher und Künstler in Berlin. Sein Fokus liegt auf den Bereichen Computervision, Privatsphäre und Überwachung. Er absolvierte ein Programm für interaktive Telekommunikation an der New York University (2010) und studierte zuvor Ingenieurwesen und Fotojournalismus an der Pennsylvania State University. Frühere Projekte zur Überwachung umfassen Computer Vision Dazzle (CV Dazzle: Tarnung durch Gesichtserkennung), die Anti-Drohnen Burka (Tarnung vor Wärmebildkameras), SkyLift (ein Geolokalisierungs-Spoofing-Gerät) und MegaPixels (Abfragen von Gesichtserkennungs-Informationslieferketten).

Seine Arbeit wurde in zahlreichen Medienpublikationen vorgestellt, darunter die New York Times, BBC, Der Spiegel, Washington Post, Wired, New Yorker und die Financial Times sowie auf internationalen Veranstaltungen, wie: V&A-Museum (UK), Mediacity Biennale in Seoul (KR), Istanbul Design Biennale (TK), Frankfurter Kunstverein (DE), Zeppelin Museum (DE), Utah Museum of Contemporary Art (US) und Kemper Museum of Contemporary Art (US).

Kürzlich entwickelte Harvey VFRAME, ein Computer-Vision-Projekt, das Menschenrechtsforschern hilft, visuelle forensische Werkzeuge für Open-Source-Intelligence (OSINT)-Untersuchungen einzusetzen. VFRAME erhielt 2019 einen Award of Distinction von Ars Electronica, wurde 2018 für den EU STARTS-Preis nominiert, 2019 für den Beazley Design of the Year Award und erhielt von EYEBEAM einen Rapid Response Grant für die Entwicklung von Computer-Vision-Tools zur Analyse von Polizeibildern.

Kontakt

Email

hello[at]ahprojects.com

Web

More about Adam Harvey

Organisation
Researcher and Artist based in Berlin
  • Positionen

    Research Fellow

    Forschungsgruppe „Ungleichheit und digitale Souveränität

    1. Juli - 14. September 2020

  • © *Dieses Portraitfoto von Adam Harvey spiegelt auch seine Arbeit wider, in der es u. a. auch um Gesichtserkennung geht: sein Bild lässt keine Rückverfolgung durch gängige Gesichtserkennung auf seine Identität zu.

Zurück zur Übersicht