Dr. Diana Serbanescu

Research Group Lead

With a double background in computer science and performing arts, Diana Serbanescu works on interdisciplinary approaches to culture, society and technology, with a strong focus on feminist approaches to knowledge production.

As team lead of the group researching the Criticality of Artificial Intelligence she promotes a practice-led and participatory research practice on the topics of bias and explainability in relation to machine learning algorithms and towards revealing inherent symbolic power structures in current technological systems.

She also co-founded REPLICA, a performing arts platform inviting creatives and scientists to collaborate on imagining hybrid behavioural models for humans and machines, and to prototype future tools, cultures and rituals. As the artistic director of REPLICA, Diana Serbanescu explores the potential of sentimental machines: the new human, the measurability of emotion, or the continued validity of traditions in an era of artificial intelligence and digital colonisation, when technologies permeate the collective unconscious and generate new aesthetics.

In 2019 Diana and REPLICA were awarded with a Small Planning Grant by the Volkswagen Stiftung Foundation for the project The Shape of Things to Come – rehearsing future societies with AI and performing arts.

Contact

Email

diana-alina.serbanescu[at]tu-berlin.de ‎

Organisation
Technische Universität Berlin (TU)

Back to Overview

Dr. Diana Serbanescu

Forschungsgruppenleiterin

Mit einem doppelten Hintergrund in Informatik und darstellenden Künsten arbeitet Diana Serbanescu an interdisziplinären Ansätzen zu Kultur, Gesellschaft und Technologie, mit einem starken Schwerpunkt auf feministischen Ansätzen der Wissensproduktion.

Als Teamleiterin der Gruppe zur Erforschung der Kritikalität der Künstlichen Intelligenz vertritt sie eine praxisorientierte und partizipative Forschungspraxis zu den Themen Verzerrung und Erklärbarkeit in Bezug auf Algorithmen des maschinellen Lernens und zur Aufdeckung inhärenter symbolischer Machtstrukturen in aktuellen technologischen Systemen.

Sie war auch Mitbegründerin von REPLICA, einer Plattform für darstellende Künste, die Kreative und Wissenschaftler einlädt, gemeinsam hybride Verhaltensmodelle für Mensch und Maschine zu entwerfen und zukünftige Werkzeuge, Kulturen und Rituale zu entwerfen. Als künstlerische Leiterin von REPLICA erforscht Diana Serbanescu das Potenzial sentimentaler Maschinen: das neue Menschliche, die Messbarkeit von Emotionen oder die fortdauernde Gültigkeit von Traditionen im Zeitalter der künstlichen Intelligenz und der digitalen Kolonialisierung, wenn Technologien das kollektive Unbewusste durchdringen und eine neue Ästhetik erzeugen.

2019 erhielt Diana mit REPLICA von der Volkswagen Stiftung einen kleinen Planungszuschuss für das Projekt The Shape of Things to Come – das Üben zukünftiger Gesellschaften mit KI und darstellenden Künsten.

Kontakt

Email

diana-alina.serbanescu[at]tu-berlin.de ‎

Organisation
Technische Universität Berlin (TU)

Zurück zur Übersicht