Antonio A. Casilli

Associate Researcher

Antonio A. Casilli is a professor of sociology at the school of telecommunications (Telecom Paris) of the Polytechnic Institute of Paris. Since 2007 he has been facilitating the seminar "Studying digital cultures" at the École des hautes études en sciences sociales (EHESS, School for Advanced Studies in the Social Sciences) of Paris, where he is an associate researcher.

He is one of the founders of ENDL (European Network on Digital Labor) and of the research team DiPLab (Digital Platform Labor). Among his books, translated into several languages: "En attentant les robots" [Waiting for Robots], Editions du Seuil, 2019); "Trabajo, Conocimiento y Vigilancia" [Work, Knowledge, and Surveillance] (Editorial del Estado, 2018); "Against the Hypothesis of the End of Privacy" (with P. Tubaro and Y. Sarabi, Springer, 2014); "Les Liaisons Numériques" [Digital Relationships] (Editions du Seuil, 2010).

He was the editorial adviser for "Invisibles - Les travailleurs du clic" [Invisible - The Click Workers] (France Televisions, 2020), a documentary series for the French public national television broadcaster, based on his research on digital labor.

Antonio joins the Weizenbaum Institute as an Associate Researcher with research group “Criticality of AI-based Systems“ to create links between the Weizenbaum Institute and the DiPLab research group at the Polytechnic Institute of Paris. His role also includes the co-supervisor of Milagros Miceli’s dissertation: “Data Creation, Meaning Imposition: The Role and Effects of Power Differentials in the Production of Computer Vision Datasets.“ This interdisciplinary work scrutinizes the production of datasets for computer vision by investigating work practices at the intersection of data collection, annotation, and engineering, as well as corporate structures and inter-organizational relations that shape datasets and systems.

Contact

Email

antonio.casilli[at]telecom-paris.fr

Web

Antonio A. Casilli

Organisation
Institut Polytechnique de Paris
Miscellaneous

Twitter: @AntonioCasilli

Back to Overview

Antonio A. Casilli

Assoziierter Wissenschaftler

Antonio A. Casilli ist Professor für Soziologie an der Schule für Telekommunikation (Telecom Paris) des Polytechnischen Instituts von Paris. Seit 2007 leitet er das Seminar "Studying digital cultures" an der École des hautes études en sciences sociales (EHESS, Schule für Höhere Studien in den Sozialwissenschaften) von Paris, wo er als assoziierter Forscher tätig ist.

Er ist einer der Gründer von ENDL (European Network on Digital Labor) und des Forschungsteams DiPLab (Digital Platform Labor). Zu seinen Büchern, die in mehrere Sprachen übersetzt wurden, gehören: "En attentant les robots" [Warten auf Roboter], Editions du Seuil, 2019); "Trabajo, Conocimiento y Vigilancia" [Arbeit, Wissen und Überwachung] (Editorial del Estado, 2018); "Against the Hypothesis of the End of Privacy" [Gegen die Hypothese vom Ende der Privatsphäre] (mit P. Tubaro und Y. Sarabi, Springer, 2014); "Les Liaisons Numériques" [Digitale Beziehungen] (Editions du Seuil, 2010).

Er war der redaktionelle Berater für "Invisibles - Les travailleurs du clic" [Unsichtbar - Die Klickarbeiter] (France Televisions, 2020), eine Dokumentarserie für den französischen öffentlich-rechtlichen Fernsehsender, die auf seinen Recherchen über digitale Arbeit basiert.

Antonio arbeitet am Weizenbaum-Institut als assoziierter Wissenschaftler in der Forschungsgruppe "Kritikalität KI-basierter Systeme", um Verbindungen zwischen dem Weizenbaum-Institut und der DiPLab-Forschungsgruppe am Polytechnischen Institut in Paris zu schaffen. Seine Rolle beinhaltet auch die Co-Betreuung der Dissertation von Milagros Miceli: "Data Creation, Meaning Imposition: The Role and Effects of Power Differentials in the Production of Computer Vision Datasets". Diese interdisziplinäre Arbeit hinterfragt die Produktion von Datensätzen für Computer Vision, indem sie Arbeitspraktiken an der Schnittstelle von Datenerfassung, Annotation und Engineering sowie Unternehmensstrukturen und interorganisatorische Beziehungen untersucht, die Datensätze und Systeme formen.

Kontakt

Email

antonio.casilli[at]telecom-paris.fr

Web

Antonio A. Casilli

Organisation
Institut Polytechnique de Paris
Sonstiges

Twitter: @AntonioCasilli

Zurück zur Übersicht