de / en

Digitalization and Networked Security

The research group was examining functional and IT security along the path of digitalisation and the associated networking of previously separated infrastructure systems. The focus was on both technological solutions and an understanding of the actors' patterns of action and thinking.

This research group conducted research at the Weizenbaum Institute from 2017 to 2022. In the newly launched research program, research will henceforth be organised in 16 research groups. These will be flanked and supported by the new Weizenbaum Digital Science Center.

We saw security, data protection conformity and robustness of networked infrastructure systems as well as the security of citizens including the protection of their privacy and informational self-determination as overarching goals in our research. Our project was focused on the identification of needs and the design of demand-oriented solutions for citizens. With a strong focus on interdisciplinarity and dialogue/transfer in our research, we strove for sustainable impact of our research results.
Specifically, we addressed a range of issues within such topics as security and data protection in networked infrastructure systems, Internet-based functions and platforms for the deployment of civil security forces including crime in the digital space (e.g., international legal frameworks, criminal distribution channels, applications and implementations for the detection of criminal content), and communication in crisis and disaster scenarios. We developed technological solutions to raise awareness of citizens in networked infrastructure systems and to ensure fast availability and accuracy of information for citizens in crisis and disaster scenarios.


Prof. Dr. Manfred Hauswirth, Direktor, Principal Investigator
Prof. Dr. Lars Gerhold, Principal Investigator
Dr. Tatiana Ermakova, Forschungsgruppenleiterin

  • Prof. Dr. Benjamin Fabian
  • Yannick Fernholz
  • Pouyan Fotouhi Tehrani
  • Elena Golimblevskaia
  • Richard Huber
  • Shih-Chi Ma
  • Arman Pairavi
  • Pooja Pathak
  • Vasilis Ververis, PhD


Loading ...