de / en

Institute Council

The Institute Council is the successor of the Scientific Council and the central place for exchange on Institute matters, in which all relevant status groups are represented. The Executive Board regularly reports to the Institute Council on matters of Institute strategy, research, dialogue with society, career development and other significant issues. The Institute Council deliberates on these issues and can comment on them.

Members of the Institute Council


  • Prof. Dr. Christoph Neuberger, Scientific Managing Director (FU), (Chair)
  • Prof. Dr. Sascha Friesike, Director (UdK)
  • Prof. Dr. Martin Krzywdzinski, Director (WZB)
  • Prof. Dr. Bettina Berendt, Director (TU)   
  • Prof. Dr. Manfred Hauswirth, Director (FOKUS)
  • Prof. Dr. Hanna Krasnova, Director (UP)
  • Prof. Dr. Herbert Zech, Director (HU)

Principal Investigators and Research Group Leads

  • Prof. Dr. Martin Emmer, PI (FU)
  • Prof. Dr. Lars Gerhold, PI (FOKUS / TU Braunschweig)
  • Prof. Dr. Norbert Gronau, PI (UP)
  • Prof. Dr. Jeannette Hofmann, PI (WZB)
  • Prof. Dr. Gesche Joost, PI (UdK)
  • Prof. Dr. Jan Mendling, PI (HU)
  • Prof. Dr. Barbara Pfetsch, PI (FU)
  • Prof. Dr. Stefan Schmid, PI (TU)
  • Dr. Elizaveta Kuznetsova, Research Group Lead, (Vice Chair)
  • Dr. André Ullrich, Research Group Lead

Research Associates

  • Baoning Gong
  • Anna-Theresa Mayer

Student Assistants

  • Lisa Zenke
  • Jasmin Bernardy

Employees in research-supporting areas

  • Anne Kinzel-Meschter
  • Maximilian Rech
  • Ramona Picenoni (on parental leave)