de / en

Other Committees

Other bodies at the Weizenbaum Institute include the Board of Trustees, the Advisory Board and the Institute Council.

Board of Trustees

In accordance with the statutes, the Board of Trustees monitors the activities of the Managing Board. Decisions of fundamental strategic, financial or personnel importance and in the further development of the Weizenbaum Institute's research program require its approval. The Board comprises representatives of the partners and the Institute's funding bodies.


  • Dr. Roland Philippi, Head of the Directorate-General for Key Policy Issues and Strategies; Coordination, Federal Ministry of Education and Research (Chair)
  • Esther Seng, Head of the Division for Key Policy Issues, Digitalisation, and Knowledge Transfer, Federal Ministry of Education and Research (Vice Chair)
  • Prof. Dr. h.c. Jutta Allmendinger, Ph.D., President, Wissenschaftszentrum Berlin für Sozialforschung (WZB)
  • Prof. Dr. Julia von Blumenthal, President, Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin
  • Tobias Dünow, State Secretary, Brandenburg Ministry of Science, Research, and Culture
  • Prof. Oliver Günther, Ph.D., President, Universität Potsdam
  • Prof. Dr.-Ing. Holger Hanselka, President, Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft zur Förderung der angewandten Forschung
  • Dr. Henry Marx, Permanent Secretary for Higher Education and Research, Berlin Senate Department for Higher Education and Research, Health and Long-Term Care
  • Prof. Dr. Norbert Palz, President, Universität der Künste Berlin
  • Prof. Dr. Geraldine Rauch, President, Technische Universität Berlin
  • Prof. Dr. Günter M. Ziegler, President, Freie Universität Berlin

Advisory Board

The Advisory Board advises the Managing Board and the Board of Trustees on all important issues relating to the Institute's strategy, research and dialog with society. It comprises members from the fields of science, politics, business, civil society and the media.

Appointment to the advisory board of the Weizenbaum-Institut e.V. during the establishment phase (2022-2025):

  • Prof. Dr. Christoph Bieber, Chair of Ethics and Political Management and Society at the Institute of Political Science, Universität Duisburg-Essen (Chair)
  • Prof. Dr. Gerti Kappel, Professor of Business Informatics and Head of the Business Informatics Group at the Institute for Software Technology and Interactive Systems, Technische Universität Wien (Vice Chair)
  • Prof. Dr. Anne Bartsch, empirical communication and media research with a focus on methodology and methods, Universität Leipzig
  • Prof. Dr. Johannes Buchmann, former Professor at the Department of Computer Science, Technische Universität Darmstadt
  • Maximilian Funke-Kaiser MdB, Board on Education, Research and Technology Assessment, Deutscher Bundestag
  • Prof. Dr. Konrad Förstner, Head of the Program Area "Provision of Information Services" at ZB MED - Informationszentrum Lebenswissenschaften, Technische Hochschule Köln
  • Prof. Dr. iur. Sabine Gless, Professor of Criminal Law and Criminal Procedure Law, University of Basel
  • Prof. Constanze Langer, Professor of Visual Interface Design, Vice President for Digitalization and International Affairs, Vice Dean for Special Tasks at the Department of Design and Head of the Interfacedesign program, Fachhochschule Potsdam
  • Dr. Susanne Pfab, Executive Director of the ARD
  • Prof. Dr. Reinhard Pollak, Professor of Sociology at the University of Mannheim and Head of the Department "Continuous Monitoring of Society" at GESIS - Leibniz-Institut für Sozialwissenschaften
  • Alexander Rabe, Director at eco - Verband der Internetwirtschaft
  • Prof. Dr. Arne Scheuermann, Professor of Design Theory and Head of the Institute of Design Research, Berner Fachhochschule für Künste
  • Joanna Schmölz, Digital Strategist, Senatskanzlei der Freien und Hansestadt Hamburg
  • Prof. Dr. Elke Schüßler, Professor for Entrepreneurship at Leuphana University
  • Prof. Dr. Indra Spiecker called Döhmann, LL.M., Chair of Public Law, Information Law, Environmental Law, Public Administration, Goethe Universität Frankfurt

Institute Council

The Institute Council is the successor of the Scientific Council and the central place for exchange on Institute matters, in which all relevant status groups are represented. The Executive Board regularly reports to the Institute Council on matters of Institute strategy, research, dialogue with society, career development and other significant issues. The Institute Council deliberates on these issues and can comment on them.



  • Prof. Dr. Christoph Neuberger, Scientific Managing Director (FU), (Chair)
  • Prof. Dr. Sascha Friesike, Director (UdK)
  • Prof. Dr. Martin Krzywdzinski, Director (WZB)
  • Prof. Dr. Bettina Berendt, Director (TU)   
  • Prof. Dr. Manfred Hauswirth, Director (FOKUS)
  • Prof. Dr. Hanna Krasnova, Director (UP)
  • Prof. Dr. Herbert Zech, Director (HU)

Principal Investigators and Research Group Leads

  • Prof. Dr. Martin Emmer, PI (FU)
  • Prof. Dr. Lars Gerhold, PI (FOKUS / TU Braunschweig)
  • Prof. Dr. Norbert Gronau, PI (UP)
  • Prof. Dr. Jeannette Hofmann, PI (WZB)
  • Prof. Dr. Gesche Joost, PI (UdK)
  • Prof. Dr. Jan Mendling, PI (HU)
  • Prof. Dr. Barbara Pfetsch, PI (FU)
  • Prof. Dr. Stefan Schmid, PI (TU)
  • Dr. Elizaveta Kuznetsova, Research Group Lead, (Vice Chair)
  • Dr. André Ullrich, Research Group Lead

Research Associates

  • Baoning Gong
  • Anna-Theresa Mayer

Student Assistants

  • Lisa Zenke
  • Anna Katzy-Reinshagen

Employees in research-supporting areas

  • Anne Kinzel-Meschter
  • Maximilian Rech
  • Ramona Picenoni (on parental leave)